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Purpose
This pamphlet is designed to provide information 
about criminal court proceedings. It is not a 
substitute for legal advice from a licensed attorney. 
If you have questions about your best course of 
action, what plea you should enter, your rights, 
or the consequence of a conviction of the offense 
for which you are charged, you should contact an 
attorney. Neither the clerk, judge, nor prosecutor 
can give you legal advice.

Appearance
The law requires you to make an appearance 
in your case. Your appearance date is noted on 
your citation, bond, summons, or release papers. 
You or your attorney may appear in person on or 
before your appearance date at the Harker Heights 
Municipal Court located at 305 Miller’s Crossing, 
Harker Heights, Texas 76548, or reply by mail.

Your first appearance is to determine your 
plea. If you waive a jury trial and plead guilty 
or nolo contendere (no contest), you may 
present extenuating circumstances for the 
judge to consider when determining the proper 
punishment. However, the judge is not required 
to reduce your fine. If you plead not guilty, the 
court will schedule a jury trial. You may waive a 
jury trial and request a bench trial. When you 

COURT PROCEDURES
FOR

JUVENILES
All juveniles (16 years or younger) MUST 
APPEAR IN PERSON with a parent or legal 
guardian in court and cannot dispose of any 
case by mail or without an appearance.

All juveniles are required to appear in open 
court for all proceedings in their cases. The 
parent or guardian of any juvenile charged in 
municipal court is required to be present in 
court with his or her child. Juveniles who fail 
to appear in court or fail to pay their fine will 
be reported to the Department of Public Safety 
who will suspend their driver’s license. If they 
do not have a driver’s license, they will not be 
able to obtain one until they appear in court or 
comply with the court’s order. For additional 
information, contact the Juvenile Case Manager 
at 254-953-5620.

Mandatory Alcohol and Tobacco Courses 
and Community Service
If you are found guilty of, or placed on deferred 
disposition for, an alcohol offense, the court 
must order you to complete an alcohol 
awareness course. The court must also order 
you to complete a period of community service.

If you are found guilty of, or placed on deferred 
for a tobacco offense, the court must order you 
to complete a tobacco awareness course.

NOTICE TO PARENT AND CHILD: 
CONTINUING OBLIGATION

TO APPEAR
Pursuant to Texas law, Article 45.057(j), Code 
of Criminal Procedure, you are being provided 
written notice of the following:

1.	 A child and parent required to appear before 
the Court have an obligation to provide the 
Court in writing of the current address and 
residence of the child.

2.	 The obligation does not end when the child 
reaches age 17.

3.	 On or before the seventh day after the date 
the child or parent changes residence (any 
place where the child lives or resides for a 
period of at least 30 days), the child or parent 
shall notify the Court of the current address 
in writing at: 305 Miller’s Crossing, Harker 
Heights, Texas 76548.

4.	 Failure to provide notice is a Class C 
misdemeanor and may result in arrest.

5.	 The obligation to provide notice terminates 
on discharge and satisfaction of the judgment 
or final disposition not requiring a finding of 
guilt.

6.	 If an appellate Court accepts an appeal for 
a trial de novo, the child and parent shall 
provide the notice to the appellate Court.

Free Car Seat Checks! 
A Child Passenger Safety Technician

will check to make sure your car seats
are installed correctly.  They are trained

to provide you one-on-one education
that will teach you how to use and

install a car seat on your own.
  

Please contact the City of Harker Heights 
Municipal Court for more information:

305 Miller’s Crossing
Harker Heights, TX 76548

Phone: (254) 953-5620
E-mail: court@harkerheights.gov

PLEA FORM 
(Please Print or Type)

First and Last Name:

_____________________________________________________
Date of Birth:

_____________________________________________________
Citation #:

_____________________________________________________
Offense(s):

_____________________________________________________
Amount Enclosed:

_____________________________________________________
Mailing Address:

_____________________________________________________
Home/Cell Phone#:

_____________________________________________________
Work Phone #:

_____________________________________________________

Check Plea:
	 1.	 I hereby enter a plea of Nolo 

Contendere (No Contest) and waive 
appearance for trial.

	 2.	 I hereby enter a plea of Guilty and 
waive appearance for trial.

	 3.	 I hereby enter a plea of Not Guilty and 
waive my right to a jury trial and request a 
trial by the Judge.

	 4.	 I hereby enter a plea of Not Guilty and 
request a trial by jury.

Signature:

_____________________________________________________
Date:

_____________________________________________________
PLEA CAN NOT BE ACCEPTED

WITHOUT SIGNATURE

Visit the Court Website
For More Information
and Payment Options:

www.harkerheights.gov/court



make your appearance by mail, your plea must be 
postmarked by your scheduled appearance date. If 
you plead not guilty, the court will notify you of the 
date of your trial.

If you enter a plea of guilty or no contest, you 
must also waive your right to a jury trial. You may 
request the amount of fine and appeal bond in 
writing and mail or deliver it to the court before 
your appearance date. You then have up to 31 days 
from the time you received a notice from the court 
to pay the fine or file an appeal bond with the 
municipal court.

Pleas
You must enter one of the following three pleas in 
person or by mail:

Plea of Not Guilty – A plea of not guilty means that 
you deny guilt and require the State to prove the 
charge. A plea of not guilty does not waive any of 
your rights. A plea of not guilty does not prevent a 
plea of guilty or no contest at a later time.

Plea of Guilty – By a plea of guilty, you admit that 
you committed the criminal offense charged.

Plea of Nolo Contendere (no contest) – A plea of 
nolo contendere means that you do not contest the 
State’s charge against you.

The difference between a plea of guilty and nolo 
contendere is that the no contest plea may not later 
be used against you in a civil suit for damages. 
For example, in a civil suit arising from a traffic 
crash, a guilty plea can be used as evidence of your 
responsibility or fault.

If you plead guilty or nolo contendere, you will be 
found guilty and should be prepared to pay the 
fine. If you are unable to pay the entire fine and 
costs, you should be prepared to document and 
explain your financial situation.

Fines, Costs, and Fees
The amount of the fine assessed by the court is 
determined by the facts and circumstances of the 
case. Mitigating circumstances may lower the fine, 
and aggravating circumstances may increase the 
fine. The maximum fine amount allowed for most 
traffic violations is $200; for most other violations 
of State law and city ordinances--$500; for fire 
safety, health, zoning, and sanitation ordinance 
violations—$2,000.

Courts are required by the laws of the State of 
Texas to collect court costs and fees. Because costs 
vary for different offenses, check with the court for 
the amount of costs that will be assessed for the 
violation with which you are charged. If you go to 
trial, you may have to pay the costs of overtime 
paid to a peace officer spent testifying at trial. If 
a warrant was served or processed, a $50 warrant 
fee is also assessed with an additional fee to place 
a flag on your driver’s license. If you do not pay 
the whole fine and costs within 30 days of the 
court’s judgment, you must pay an additional time 
payment fee.

Court costs are only assessed if you are found guilty 
at trial, if you plead guilty or nolo contendere, or if 
you are granted deferred disposition or a driving 
safety course. If you are found not guilty or the 
case is dismissed, court costs are not assessed.

For the correct fines and costs, please call the 
Harker Heights Court at 254-953-5620.

Judge’s Ability to Dismiss
The municipal judge is responsible for conducting 
a fair, impartial, and public trial. The case against 
you is brought by the State of Texas through the 
prosecutor, not the court. Therefore, the judge may 
not dismiss a case without the prosecutor having 
the right to try the case.

There are several exceptions to this rule, including 
deferred disposition, driving safety courses, and 
compliance dismissals.

Payment Arrangement
With a copy of your driver’s license or identification 
card along with a plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere 
(No Contest), you may request a payment 
arrangement from the Municipal Court. You must 
choose one of the following options:

1.	 Pay your balance in full within 30 days of request. 
There is no additional fee for this option.

2.	 Pay your balance in installments of $75 
per month until the balance is paid in full. 
This option requires you to provide proof of 
residence (something mailed to you within the 
past 60 days), make your initial payment of $75 
at the time of request and you must complete a 
financial information form. There is a one-time 
$15 fee that will be assessed per offense on the 
payment arrangement.

Driving Safety Course (DSC)
If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may 
be eligible to ask the judge to take a driving safety 
course to dismiss the charge. The request must 
be made on or before the appearance date on 
the citation. It must be made by the defendant in 
person, by legal counsel, or by certified mail. (If you 
are under age 17, you must appear in open court 
with a parent or guardian to make the request.) 
If you were operating a motorcycle, you may be 
required to take a motorcycle operator’s training 
course. If you are charged with allowing a child to 
ride unsecured in a safety belt or a child passenger 
safety seat system, you must take a special driving 
safety course that has four hours training on child 
passenger safety seat systems. At the time of the 
request, you must do the following:

1)	 Plead guilty or no contest;
2)	 Pay court costs;
3)	 Pay a $10 fee, if required;
4)	 Present proof of financial responsibility 

(insurance); and
5)	 Present a valid Texas driver’s license or permit. 

(Active military and spouses or dependent 
children of active military may present a valid 
driver’s license from any state.)

To be eligible, you:
1)	 Cannot have taken a driving safety course 

or motorcycle operator’s course for a traffic 
offense within the last 12 months from the 
date of the current offense;

2)	 Cannot currently be taking the course for 
another traffic violation;

3)	 Cannot be the holder of a commercial driver’s 
license (CDL) or have held a CDL at the time of 
the offense; and

4)	 Have not committed one of the following 
offenses:

	 •	 Failure to Give Information at Accident 
Scene;

	 •	 Leaving Scene of Accident;
	 •	 Passing a School Bus;
	 •	 A serious traffic violation, which applies to 

commercial motor vehicle operators;
	 •	 An offense in a construction or maintenance 

work zone when workers are present;

	 •	 Speeding 25 mph or more over limit; or
	 •	 Speeding 95 mph or more.

The case will be deferred for 90 days.

During that time you must:

1)	 Complete a driving safety course approved by 
the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle 
operator’s course approved by the Department 
of Public Safety and present the completion 
certificate to the court;

2)	 Present a certified copy of your driving record 
from the Department of Public Safety that 
shows that you have not had a driving safety 
course within the preceding 12 months from 
the date of the current offense; and

3)	 Swear to an affidavit that you were not taking 
a driving safety course at the time of the 
request for the current offense and that you 
have not taken one that is not shown on your 
driving record.

If you do not present the required documents in 
time, the court will notify you to return to court 
and explain why you failed. The judge may, but is 
not required to, allow you to file the proper papers 
for an extension at that time. Your failure to be 
present at that hearing will result in a conviction, a 
fine being assessed, and a capias pro fine for your 
arrest being issued.

If you request DSC, you must appear in person at 
the Harker Heights Municipal Court located at 305 
Miller’s Crossing, Harker Heights, Texas 76548; 
along with proof of financial responsibility, a 
valid Texas Driver’s License (Out-of-state Driver’s 
License acceptable if active duty military or 
dependent of active duty military) and pay the 
required fee on or before your appearance date on 
your citation. You may also send your request by 
certified mail. The DSC request form is available 
on the Municipal Court website if you are mailing 
your request.

Visit the Court Website For More
Information and Payment Options:

www.harkerheights.gov/court


