Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission advises the City Council on decisions affecting the overall physical development of the city. Specific functions of the commission include consideration of zoning change requests, and subdivision requests consistent with an overall comprehensive plan. Zoning establishes appropriate locations for land uses, while the subdivision process establishes the layout of lots, streets, drainage and utility easements, alleys and other public ways. The City Council may not make any final decision with regard to zoning or subdivisions until it has heard the recommendations of the Planning and Zoning Commission. In addition, the Commission functions to recommend the city's Comprehensive Plan which guides the future overall development of the City. As stated in the Code of Ordinances.

Planning and Zoning Commission Members

Larry Robison Chairman
Robert Robinson III Vice Chairman
Adam Parker  Secretary
Nuala Taylor Commissioner
Noel Webster Commissioner
Stephen Watford Commissioner
Joshua McCann Commissioner
Rodney Shine Commissioner
Kay Carey Commissioner
Christopher Albus Alternate
Michael Stegmeyer Alternate
Bary Heidtbrink Alternate
Natalie Austin Alternate