HHPD Records Section

The Records Section is responsible for the maintenance and distribution of records such as offense reports, and other police department related documents.

Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, except on holidays.

All payments must be made in exact cash/change as we do not keep change on hand. We also accept money orders. We do not accept credit cards. A valid form of identification must be presented at the time of pick up.

Costs for Records: Standard Copies - $0.10

Accident Reports:

As of November 1, 2019 the Harker Heights Police Department will no longer give copies of crash reports.  You may obtain a copy of your accident report online at https://cris.dot.state.tx.us/public/Purchase/app/home/welcome

Background Checks:

- No cost for Harker Heights Residents (must have current driver’s license that shows a Harker Heights address)
- $5.00 for Non-Residents

Complete and sign the Local Background Check Authorization Form and return it to the Harker Heights Police Department at:

402 Indian Trail Dr.
Harker Heights, TX 76548

Public Information/Open Records Requests:

To request a call for service or an incident/case report, you must fill out the Texas Public Information Act Information Request Form. Your request will be processed in accordance with the Texas Public Information Act. Requests may be dropped off in person, mailed, emailed, or faxed to the following:

402 Indian Trail Dr.
Harker Heights, TX 76548
Phone: 254-953-5404
Fax: 254-953-5414
Email: [email protected]

You can find more information about the Public Information Act by downloading the following file.
Public Information Act (English) or Public Information Act (Spanish)

Body Worn Camera Video Recordings:

To request these recordings, you must fill out this form (BWC Video Request) in its entirety. The information on the form is required under Texas Occupations Code, Section 1701.661. Provision of this information does not guarantee that such footage will be released as some footage may contain confidential information. The cost for body worn camera video footage (Texas Administrative Code, Section 70.13) is as follows:

$10.00 per recording responsive to the request for information

$1.00 per full minute of body worn camera video or audio footage responsive to the request

$3.00 per DVD

Redaction may also be needed to redact confidential information from the video if we are able to release the video to you. Labor costs will vary based on the amount of confidential information in the video. A cost estimate will be provided to you prior to any work being done.